The Jurade of Saint Emilion

Wines of Saint-Emilion for younger wine lovers

I had the great honour of attending the Wines of Saint-Emilion event, hosted by the Jurade over the weekend.

I wouldn’t even know where to start with regards to what the Jurade was before hearing about the event. I didn’t want to attend empty handed, and learnt the Jurade de Saint-Emilion to be an ancient brotherhood of wine.

With this in mind, I was slightly apprhensive before attending, it sounded like a close, knit, upper class society. Very much like something, my wine blog was trying to dispel really. I really feel wine should be accesible, and easy.

The event was aimed at wine lovers under 30s, so I was hopeful that a new generation of the wine society would be found here!

Hosted at the beautiful Lady Margaret hall, within the University of Oxford, the event was attended mostly by the students if the two wine societies at Oxfords Bacchus and the Wine Blind Tasting Society.

My first time in Oxford, it was made even more pleasurable by the sunny weather!

Leave a Reply

