February 2013 wine of the month!

Salomon Undhof Sal’mon Groovey Gruner Veltliner 

Where did the shortest month of the year go? It went towards drinking wine, planning events and listening to everyone’s opinions on the meat scandal, #horsegate hysteria. 2013, and February more so, was a  period of food scare frenzy. I bet you’ll never look at a microwaved meal in the same way!

Not only has horse meat been the nay on everyones lips, it has also appeared in our freezers, our burgers and also the guilty pleasure Ikea meatballs.From the culprits, to school children, eveyone had something to say.

Funnily enough, I purchased lamb ribs from a butchers last week, I’m certain it tasted like goat meat, it was goat meat! Mislabelling, or failure towards supply and demand? …another day, another story.

I’ll refrain from making any horsey jokes, and introduce my February wine of the month.

My February wine of the month happens to be from Oddbins (again), but this time from my old neighbourhood Pimlico. I’ve decided this special wine, which I purchased twice in February deserved recognition!

image

Salomon Undhof Sal’mon Groovey Grüner Veltliner is a refreshing, groovey wine from Kremstal, Austria. It is good value for money at £8.50.

I chose this wine, not only because I find Gruner Veltliner so diverse and great value for money, but because of the “groovey” label! On top of this, it has been a previous contestant in the Oddbins, wine bloggers case!

image

The wine was clean and crisp, with acidity. Citrus and pineapple on the nose and palate, with slight minerality.

I had the wine with lunch, perfect for prawns and a light marie rose sauce. Very easy drinking.

What were your favourite wines of the month? Let me know on Twitter, Pinterest or Instagram.

So here’s to March, hoping for hidden horse to be declared on all food products, let’s get rid of these hidden nasties lurking in our products! Hope your new month is full of good food, good wine and great company.

Happy drinking.

Leave a Reply

