Weekend wine review: Gruner Vetliner by Sepp Moser

Sepp Moser, Gruner Veltliner 2011

An Austrian wine, from the 2011 vintage.

The Gruner Vetliner grape from the Sepp Moser estate is crisp and dry in style.

The Austrian Gruner Vetliner by the Sepp Moser estate.
The Austrian Gruner Vetliner by the Sepp Moser estate.
Gruner Vetliner, Sepp Moser
Gruner Vetliner, Sepp Moser

The wine is pale in colour, a soft lemon, with a light green hue. On the palate I definitely found citrus fruit, lemon and grapefruit, but really had to have another sip to find any other notes of apple. It is quite acidic, and lacks the va-va-voom of another Gruner Vetliner I had a couple of weeks ago.

Colour me... lemon yellow, with a slight hue of green
Colour me… lemon yellow, with a slight hue of green
Looking through the Gruner Vetliner wineglass
Looking through the Gruner Vetliner wineglass

This isn’t the first Sepp Moser I’ve sampled, I’ve had the Zweigelt, but can’t really remember too much about it. Must add it on my wine to do list again.

I bought this bottle from Market Row Wines, in trendy Brixton. Their website sums the wine as “organic and zippy”!

A really lovely shop, that I’d love to do a review on as the owner has always been very nice when I’ve gone in.

Market row red wines, Brixton Market
Market row red wines, Brixton Market
Market row wines, Brixton Market
Market row wines, Brixton Market

I sipped on the white wine with chicken, marinated in lemon, honey, ginger and chilli. The perfect antidote to boost the immune system!

Chicken, cooked in honey, lemon, ginger, garlic and chilli...good bye cough!
Chicken, cooked in honey, lemon, ginger, garlic and chilli…good bye cough!

Have a great week ahead!

2 thoughts on “Weekend wine review: Gruner Vetliner by Sepp Moser

  1. Yeah, I’ve seen “Zippy” used to describe white wine before. That must be a cute way to describe an acidic wine. I like Gruner. But, it can be all over the map, in terms of flavors, depending on the maker.

    1. Zippy does sound like quite a cute way I guess! I definitely agree with regards to all over the map in terms of flavours! I had a Salomon Gruner, last week and it was absolutely gorgeous, not too acidic, perfect balance. I most likely will try and write up on it, once I get another bottle, so do look out for it!

      Good luck on the blog,
      Ireti (Pressed for wine)

Leave a Reply

