Do you give a quack about wine?

Disclaimer – this post has nothing to do with actually giving a quack about wine!

I’d been meaning to use my slow cooker again for quite some time and I’d also been craving duck and a lovely glass of wine, this post was conceived..

I love the crock pot / slow cooker / let’s take it easy, and throw it all in, but I really get impatient wanting to taste the flavours as they develop in the pot. I really enjoy grabbing a utensil every so often to make sure the meal I’ve spent so long planning in my head is going in the right direction. I find this very difficult to do with a slow cooker, and find (in my opinion), it is very much guess work (unless of course you are following a recipe, by which I rarely do).

Anyway, I purchased a whole duck and really fancied something delicious, and to be honest desperately wanted to try the slow cooker again. What’s better than meat falling of a carcass and the sauce that is left behind? Food heaven!

Slow cooked duck and vegetables
Slow cooked duck and vegetables

Cooking duck this way definitely has it’s benefits, just think of all the gorgeous duck fat, that can be used for roasting, sauteing or frying over the next couple of months! Whack it in the frezeer with a use by sticker, and you are good to go!

My primary goal for the duck was obviously to match it with an equally as delicious wine. Cooked alone, the deep flavours of duck are rich with earthiness and there are many wines that can support it’s gamey qualities.

Crock pot, or slow cooker - you decide!
Crock pot, or slow cooker – you decide!

The duck was rubbed with extra virgin olive oil, freshy ground rock salt, black peppercorns and a dash of thyme. To add to my slow cooker, I have a shallot, 5 cloves of garlic, 3 parsnip, 3 carrot, 3 white flesh sweet potatoes and a can of cherries! I also added two tablespoons of redcurrant jelly (not enough in retrospect).

IMG_8690
Wine press girl’s vegetables of choice – carrots, leeks, parsnips. banana shallot, white flesh sweet potato and garlic

It cooked slowly on high for just over there hours. The results in all honesty we’re not what I was expecting visually…. But taste wise were delicious.

Duck and vegetable broth, in a pretty round bowl..
Duck and vegetable broth, in a pretty round bowl..
Wine press girl's duck broth with vegetables
Wine press girl’s duck broth with vegetables

The duck ended up as more of a duck broth for lunch, and when it had cooled, I shredded the meat to be ready for a Sunday supper.

For supper the duck meat was served with potatoes, Yorkshire puddings and the duck stock reduced to homemade gravy!

I served the duck with a new world Chardonnay from the Limari Valley, Chile. A 2011 vintage. It was around £11.49 from Waitrose in store.

Encantado by Tabali (Reserve Chardonnay from the Limarí Valley, Chile)
Encantado by Tabali (Reserve Chardonnay from the Limarí Valley, Chile)

It worked really well with the richness of the duck broth and vegetables.

I’m really hoping to cook and match more. I do cook a lot, and drink a lot, but matching is definitely a new art.

A fork and glass to the art of matching..

One thought on “Do you give a quack about wine?

Leave a Reply

